top of page
Writer's pictureBritt

The Asian American Artist


Ever since I let TikTok run my life, it introduces me to new content. My For You Page ranges from funny cat videos to K-Pop. The best content it introduces me to are any singers or musicians who are not popular in mainstream entertainment, but have so much talent. Over our long break, I discovered two different Asian American vocal artists and I fell in love with their music.


I first stumbled upon the first Asian American Artist, Kevin Chung, due to his song duets. He recreates a melody from a popular song with his guitar and guides his viewers through the duet. With his calm and soothing voice, I enjoy singing along with him. And no, I do not post any videos singing along. After so many song duets, I decided to explore his account to see if he had any original music. It didn't take me long to find his latest single, Out of Luck.

Out of Luck was everything I needed in music and lyrics. The song is quite catchy, but chill at the same time. The song explores the reasons why a relationship has ended with a longing to understand what could have caused the love to leave. Though I did connect with the music right away, the lyrics became the defining inspiration to reflect inwards. The lyrics deal with relationship, but I found I connected on another level. Often, I question my choices either good or bad and look back to understand why things changed or stayed the same. It was encouraging to know that others besides myself ask these questions about themselves. This song has become part of my ponder playlist when I need to reflect on my writings, choices, etc. Kevin has gift to speak to others through his music and I hope he gains in popularity.


The second Asian American Artist, Nicholas Chun, I fell in love with, I discovered him after seeing a video on TikTok of him showing his music to his mother. He was nervous and she was very positive saying, "You could be a K-Pop idol." It was endearing to see their relationship in the little snippet. It was the reason I went searching for his music. I found a number of his songs, but my favorite is Follow You.


Follow You is a straight up vibe song. The music, lyrics, and single cover have a Lofi feel to them. Nicholas' music does remind me of the Hallyu artist, DPR. The song is one of my go to car songs. Every time it plays, I can't stop myself for car dancing and moving my hands along with the music. I feel free while listening to the song which is very powerful feat for an artist to accomplish. The lyrics of Follow You discuss the loyalty and love the artist has for his love interest wanting him to go deeper and commit. They are very sweet lyrics and definitely a nice divert from Western Artist who only seems interested in physical relationships. The song is rated Explicit due to some of the language. Another talented artist and Nicholas has a lot of music available to listen.


I love the feel of both artists and I can't wait to see what the future has in store for them. Click the links above to listen to their music or watch their music video. I promise you won't be disappointed!

Comentários


bottom of page