top of page
Writer's pictureBeka

WEi: The future of Kpop




With so many new groups debuting in the 4th Hallyu wave, groups and solo artists tend to get overlooked. However, there is one group in particular that I want to highlight! They have a strong team and stage presence, and I think they just need more love and fans! So here is my pitch for YOU to become a fellow RUi (루아이).


WEi is a 6 member team under OUI Entertainment. They have three rappers and all 6 of them are vocalists. They are the real deal! All six members came from elimination shows. Members Daehyeon and Donghan both came from Produce season 2. They were two of the members that did join other groups before coming into WEi.

Members Yongha and Junseo came from Under 19. While members Seokhwa and Yohan came from Produce X 101. Yohan finishing Produce with 1st place and moving onto be in the group X1 before coming into WEi.


Ok, let's get into it! WEi's stage presence is no joke. They are a strong dancing team with fierce camera work! Members do a good job of finding their perfect angle with choreography! They are still a newly debuted group but their vocals have tons of potential! Right now you see them do a lot of high notes with their intense choreography and still kill the shot. In a few years, they will hone their talents with much greater skill. Leader and Main rapper Daehyeon kills his lines with ease. He even produced their last comeback title song All or Nothing. He also helps write most of their music with the help of fellow members.


WEi is an all-around killer team with so many different aspects to stan! These guys have worked their butts off against some of the biggest names in 4th gen kpop. Like most groups have multiple platforms with social media! Most members have their own Instagram and update regularly! That way you can follow along and keep up with them individually! They also post so much content from interviews on youtube to having their own reality tv show! Their Youtube show OUI Go Up is on season 2 right now with every Monday.


My current bias from this group is obviously Daehyeon because I love a good rapper! However, I do appreciate Yongha's stage presence as well! I really do think of this team as my babies! They are one of the youngest groups I follow and choose to stan! I hope they end up staying together. I think in a few years they will be one of the best teams in the industry!


Lately, a lot of groups have been disbanding due to the pandemic. IZONE being one that hurts the most. However, I have a bad feeling this group might be headed in the same direction. For groups to stick around they need a strong view count, a demand in showcases, and trend value. The group as a whole is doing their best and loyal fans are keeping the view count steady. However, the group will need more than just a few thousand viewers to remain competitive. I hope my gut feeling is wrong and maybe I am just reading too far into the numbers. I really want this group to do well! All the members have worked hard and fought a lot of battles to get to this current standing! Even if something does happen in the future and they do break up as all groups eventually do. I know they will be successful in anything they do!


All to say, stan WEi my peeps they will not disappoint you!


Comments


bottom of page